New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2017 · Looking for advice on programs for Mac OS X

shutterwolf

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Looking for advice on programs for Mac OS X

As the title states, I am in search of some programs for my Macbook. I am still fairly new to apple, and I have tried a few programs here and there, but I figured I would reach out to see what others recomend.

Im mainly looking for the best app to view photos. On my PC, I use Acdsee Pro 9, and its great for a viewer. On my Macbook though, it doesnt seem to be as smooth/easy to use. I am looking for something where I can use the swipe gesture on the trackpad for smooth/easy scrolling. The stock preview app is great, but it seems to only view 1 image at a time unless you highlight and open all the photos in the folder, but that can be a pain.

Also, what other apps should I look into? Photography related or just other cool things to have.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!

Jul 20, 2017 at 03:25 AM
fgphoto
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Looking for advice on programs for Mac OS X

Photomechanic is a long time go-to for photojournalists and other photographers that want to view images and rate (stars, color tag, etc.) quickly. It has a great interface to quickly ingest images, and then allows you to batch or individually rename, add iptc data, change capture time and a whole bunch of other great early editing tools along with being able to quickly go through your take and select your winners. It also has FTP and other transmit capabilities built in so you can also use it to send or upload images after you've edited them.

Photomechanic will not do the work of Photoshop/Lightroom/Capture One, but it is the program that many of us use to ingest sort and caption our images outside of our photo editing software of choice.

www.camerabits.com